Written by 7:59 pm Art

Crop Over Festival 2019 Results

The recently culminated Crop Over Festival has been deemed successful by those involved. Event planners, party goers, street vendors, band producers, revelers and spectators all agree. Everyone who we spoke to had a blast and might’t wait until Crop Over 2020. 

From the standard of music to the standard of the Kadooment bands, this yr’s festival went above and beyond expectations. Below we’ve listed a few of the most effective of the most effective, sharing with you the winners of the varied competitions for this yr’s Crop Over Festival.

Junior Monarchs

Age 6 to 10 – The Mighty Bit Bit – “De Style Of Old Calypso”

Dee Jay singing “My Time” was second and Riyah B with “Indiscipline” was third

Age 11 to 14 – Queen Shontae – “Stop De Violence” 

Xavi with “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle” was second and Mhizz Khibaba singing “Her Story”, third.

Age 15 to 18 – Quon – “Smart”
De Overcomer’s “Last” was second and Yahandje was third singing “My Reality”.

Peoples’ Monarch: Leadpipe featuring Jus-Jay – “Sometime” 

International Bashment Soca Monarchs: SK – “Reverse” & King Bubba – “She All the time Bend Over”

Lil’ Rick held second place with “Balance Batty” and “Unda Dawg” captured third with “Ben Ova”.

Soca Monarch: Mikey – “Motion Time Again”

Second place went to Lil Rick together with his hit Jam Down and third place was Sometime by Leadpipe

Pic-o-de-Crop Calypso Monarch: Classic – “One Song”

Adrian Clarke and Terencia “TC” Coward tied for second place singing “Christmas in Crop Over” and “Iron Lady”, respectively.

Tune of the Crop: “Sometime” – Leadpipe featuring  Jus-Jay

Second and third place were taken by Lil’ Rick singing “It Ain’t Me” and “Jam Down”, respectively.

Junior Kadooment Winners

Best Flag Person: Mia Farmer, Gwyneth Squires Junior Kadooment Band

Junior King of the Band: Kaden Hoyte – Tribute to de Ancestors, Young Spirit Community Group

Junior Queen of the Band: Jatara Small – Lady of the Reef, FifthElement Band

Best Junior Band: Fifth Element Band – Protect Our Coast Kevin Small

Robert Weekes Award for Best Festival Designer – Sanka & Sonia Price “Celebrating the Arts – Barbados future through the Orange Economy”

Grand Kadooment Winners

Winston Jordan Award Flagperson of the yr: Justin Poleon – FifthElement Mas

Best Individual Male: Kevin Small – Underwater Royalty – FifthElement Mas 

Best Individual Female: Suzette Reid – Golden Race – FifthElement Mas 

Republic Bank Large Band of the 12 months: Betty West Kadooment Band – “Festival Time”

Republic Bank Large Band of the 12 months: Gywneth Squires Kadooment Band – “Sun, Sea & Fun”

Robert Weekes Award for Best Festival Designer: Kevin Small – “FifthElement Mas”

Presentation of the 12 months: FifthElement Mas – “De Golden Coast”

Find the total list of winners for Junior Kadooment and Grand Kadooment.

Find your ideal Barbados accommodation…

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)