Written by 8:23 pm Food

Second edition of National Tourism Award recognizes innovation and excellence

Puerto Plata, DR.- The Senator Puerto Plata hotel was the setting for the second edition of the National Tourism Award which recognized achievement and excellence in Dominican tourism at a gala attended by essentially the most representative actors of the Dominican Republic’s tourism sector.

The Lifetime Achievement category went to Julio César Llibre Salcedo for his helpful skilled work of greater than 30 years in tourism and his contributions to the event of the sector within the Dominican Republic.

Also recognized were Sabrina Brugal (founding father of this system “Sabrina en fin de semana”) and Alejandro Castillo, each with greater than three a long time dedicated to the Dominican tourism sector.

The grand prize went to the VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort as Hotel of the 12 months, for its results, in addition to the nice management of the sanitary protocols, the wonderful quality of its offer and the high standards of services.

Carlos Jiménez Ruiz, Development Director for the Caribbean area of the Lopesan Hotel Group, received the Manager of the 12 months award for his good performance in his functions and for having achieved growth, quality and innovation in tourism.

Other winners

The winners in the opposite categories were: Arecoa.com, as Media of the 12 months, for highlighting each destination within the country and its contributions to the expansion tourism; María Luis Bens, as Chef of the 12 months, for the standard and responsibility within the service and innovation within the preparation of every dish; and José Castillo García (Aquamanrd), as Influencer of the 12 months, for projecting together with his image each Dominican tourist destination.

The Annual Fair of the Caribbean Tourism Exchange (BTC) won within the category Tourism Event of the 12 months, for contributing to the promotion, exchange and development of Dominican tourism; the Consorcio Energético Punta Cana-Macao (CEPM), within the category Social Welfare, for its great contributions to the event and growth of the communities and contributing to the strengthening of every demarcation.

Katmandu Park Punta Cana won the award within the Tourism Vision and Innovation category, for generating a singular experience and for its contribution to sustainable growth in tourism; and Homewood Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo, within the City Destination category, for having managed to keep up excellence and quality in its services.

The Instituto Nacional de Formación Técnico Profesional (Infotep) was awarded for its great contributions to the sector in training all hotel personnel nationwide; and the Ministry of Tourism (Mitur), for the nice impact on the event of local tourism with its campaign “Turismo en Cada Rincón” (Tourism in Every Corner).

Journalist Luis Severino, president of the award, thanked the support received by the Senator Puerto Plata Hotel for being the official home of the second edition, in addition to all of the sponsors that joined this initiative.

Alejandro Castillo, general manager of the Senator Hotel, expressed his pride for hosting again this great event, which also serves to motivate people involved in tourism, especially after the difficulties faced within the last two years.

The National Tourism Award is organized by tour operator Turismo Travel and is sponsored by the Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, Mitur, Instituto Dominicano de Aviación Civil (IDAC), Infotep, BanReservas, Cap Cana, Pemat Group, Master Red, Iberostar Costa Dorada, hotel Gran Ventana Beach Resort, David Atelier, Ron Barceló, Impera and Homewood Suites By Hilton Santo Domingo.

It’s also sponsored by Puros Macerlino, Coradín & Asociados, Emotions by Hodelpa Puerto Plata, Sunscape Puerto Plata, BlueBay Villas Doradas, Viva Wyndham, Ron Punta Cana, Periódico El Día, Clúster Turístico del Destino Puerto Plata and Asociación de Hoteles, Restaurantes y Empresas Turísticas del Norte.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)